Punch on: Open thread 01/08/2012
This is South Korean fencer Shin A-Lam, and as far as we can gather, she was cruelly foiled by the judges yesterday.
She thought she’d won her semi-final, but a second was added to the clock, and that second seemed to last forever. In that extra time, which was almost certainly a timekeeping stuff-up, she sustained a hit, thereby losing her chance at gold.
How can this sort of thing occur in the era of the video replay, you may well ask? And while we’re talking about this sort of thing, who else noticed that hockey now has video replays? Soccer sure could learn a thing or two. Anything the rest of us could learn on this first day of the month?
Read all about it
Up to the minute Twitter chatter
The latest and greatest
Good morning Punchers. After four years of excellent fun and great conversation, this is the final post…
I have had some close calls, one that involved what looked to me like an AK47 pointed my way, followed…
In a world in which there are still people who subscribe to the vile notion that certain victims of sexual…